HELPLINE: 0300 323 7602 - Calls cost no more than a national rate call

my area

click map

Eilean Siar (Western Isles)

Highland Council

Orkney Islands

Shetland Islands




Argyll and Bute

Cairngorms National Park


Dumfries and Galloway


East Ayrshire

East Dunbartonshire

East Lothian

East Renfrewshire






Loch Lomond and the Trossachs



North Ayrshire

North Lanarkshire

Perth and Kinross


Scottish Borders

South Ayrshire

South Lanarkshire


West Dunbartonshire

West Lothian

On this page you can link directly to your planning authority and find out about the Development Plan for your area. The Development Plan is a document prepared by the local authority which sets out how your local area may change in the future. It explains what type of development (homes, shops, new schools etc) should take place where e.g. preferred locations for new homes and businesses, and which areas should not be developed.

The land-use allocations and policies in development plans affect your everyday life, so becoming involved in the preparation process gives you an opportunity at the earliest possible stage to have a say in shaping the future of your community and environment.

If you want to find out more about opportunities and timescales for becoming involved with local or strategic development plans, look for the Development Plan Scheme on your planning authority website. Most planning authorities will have information about current consultations and how you can get involved on the development plan section of their website. Some have newsletters that you can sign up to in order to be kept informed.

Making your opinions known at this stage can be much more effective than trying to influence decisions on planning applications later on.
[threecol_one] 1. Aberdeen
2. Aberdeenshire
3. Angus
4. Argyll and Bute
5. Cairngorms
6. Clackmannanshire
7. Dumfries and Galloway
8. Dundee
9. East Ayrshire
10. East Dunbartonshire
11. East Lothian
12. East Renfrewshire
[/threecol_one] [threecol_one] 13. Edinburgh
14. Eilean Siar (Western Isles)
15. Falkirk
16. Fife
17. Glasgow
18. Highland
19. Inverclyde
20. Loch Lomond and the Trossachs
21. Midlothian
22. Moray
23. North Ayrshire
24. North Lanarkshire
[/threecol_one] [threecol_one_last] 25. Orkney Islands
26. Perth and Kinross
27. Renfrewshire
28. Scottish Borders
29. Shetland Islands
30. South Ayrshire
31. South Lanarkshire
32. Stirling
33. West Dunbartonshire
34. West Lothian